blank-8-5-x-11-in

Comic Book and Movie Reviews: What are your origins, Mikel?

Mikel Miles: My name is Mikel Miles, I come from Toronto, Canada, and am a graduate from the Notre Dame Secondary High School. I began writing ever since I was in the 5th grade,  9 to 10 years old, during those years when the Chicago Bulls were winning the NBA Championship, while Micheal Jordan was fast becoming one of my all-time favorite basketball players, and still is.

During my lunch breaks I would draw and write about my favorite moments in life, like the time I had the flu while playing a game against the Utah Jazz. Admittedly, it was a crappy drawing, but at least the writing was good. Well, that’s what my teacher told me after I finished it and handed it to her.
Comic Book and Movie Reviews: What inspired you to create
Mikel Miles: ‘Samurai Shin’?   A year ago my friend Ivan Earl Aguilar and I were brainstorming ideas based on a lot of Japanese films and animation. From our discussions we noticed that we kept on coming back to three key anime films, time and time again: ‘Afro Samurai‘, ‘Samurai Champloo‘, and ‘Sword Of A Stranger‘. Those were the three main sources we analysed as best as we could, trying to find out what the essence of Japanese animation and culture really is. On the flip side of things, however, Ivan and I would also try to make Samurai Shin different too, story-wise.
Comic Book And Movie Reviews: What song would you say best represents this comic and why?
Mikel Miles: I normally executive produce soundtracks based on the Samurai Shin comic book, soundtracks that represent the tale like ‘Chill $quad: Stay On Point‘ plus Jaymin Warren – ‘Boy With A Sword‘.
Comic Book and Movie Reviews: If you could get a celebrity – either living or dead – to promote your wares, who would you choose, and why would you want to choose this particular person?
 Mikel Miles: I would like to have four people promote my work: Takashi Okazki, the creator of ‘Afro Samurai‘; Nujabes & Fat Jon, the two producers on ‘Samurai Champloo OST‘; plus RZA, the executive producer on ‘Afro Samurai‘.
The sad thing is, is that one of these producers is no longer with us, Nujabes, may he rest in peace, yet it would be great to see him working with Fat Jon again.
Checkout the Full Blog Interview on Comic Book and Movie Reviews
